Insight · Uncategorized

Do It Now, Not Tomorrow.

Sometimes I feel like I am moving too quickly toward my dreams and other days I feel like I have not made any progress. I have all these goals I want to smash ya know, like …. be a millionaire by 2020…. I have no idea how I am going to get there. I have not found the magical plan to get me to where I want to go, I just know that I will.

Daniel DiPiazza (Rich20Something) wrote an AWESOME piece reflecting on our past African American heroes and turned it into a lesson on urgency and creation. I read it a few times.* It really got me thinking about my life and all the time I waste just letting the world happen to me.

He posted up a video that you can watch here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTQU1gsTcVY

***

I am 22. I will probably have a happy and healthy, sixty years ahead of me that I would love to be able to fill up with memories of joy and success and family. However, I could be wrong. I am just ASSUMING my life will be long and luxurious.

But. What. If.

What if instead of being a millionaire by 2020, I die by 2020. Just think about that. What would you do? If I had four years left to live I would have so much left to accomplish! There would be so many souls I would have to seek out and lives I am still set to leave an impact on. I would have a lot of work to do in a short amount of time and I definitely wouldn’t be waiting until ‘tomorrow’ to get it done.

Recently I have absorbed the ways of the world, I have been merely observing, making no such effort to create it a better place, and I regret that. My “I’ll do it later” attitude needs to change to, “I’ll do it now” because nothing of value comes from doing it later. I used to say that I wanted to be written about in history books, to be known as someone who impacted people in a great way, but now I realize that if I was the hero in just a few journals (like the one I write all these thoughts down in) than that would be enough for me. I want to positively affect as many lives as I can before I am taken off of this earth. Tupac created a movement in just five years of being in the public eye – because his message was URGENT. He needed people to understand his point of view and before he died he made sure he did whatever it took to get his message across. His “I’ll do it now” attitude is why people remember his name. If we all felt the need to better those around us right NOW, this world would be able to accomplish so much more. Personally, I want to be known as someone who helps you, who loves you and makes you feel worthy. I want everyone I work with or represent to better the people around them too. Laziness is an evil that makes it easy to put things off until tomorrow. We must wake up with the intention to do good NOW.

 

“Your future is created by what you do TODAY not what you plan to do TOMORROW!”

 

 

 

 

*Seriously read this. [http://www.rich20something.com/creation-is-urgent/?inf_contact_key=4063ccb91133fa103c6fdc6a0f5de2682b123cc596ec5cd463d4eebbae8be065]

One thought on “Do It Now, Not Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

